Going with my gut – babies and houses

14 Apr

20120414-230142.jpg

I blogged earlier in the week about some of the things that have been going through my mind when considering baby no 2. I’m pretty sure I’ve decided to go for it but it’s not been as calculated a decision as I imagined.

When I had the babe I had an instinctive response to being a mum which appears to have served me well. An overwhelming feeling allowed me to go forward confidently. I can’t say exactly what the feeling is but it’s with me still. I know having number 2 when no 1 is only one will be tough but it feels like the right thing to do. Fortunately the hubby agrees!

So that brings us to the more practical problem of moving house. Reading what I’ve already written its making me chuckle cause the hubby and I have a not dissimilar approach to houses that we do with babies. We go with our gut. We bought our current house without looking at much else and it’s suited us down to the ground for the last 7 years. We are on the brink of doing the same thing again, but I’m confident. (This is partly because I was an estate agent in a former life and like to think I know my stuff but there is more to it than that).

In reality we’ve probably spent the last twelve months thinking and talking about what our next home might look like. We’ve dismissed upping our mortgage by any major amount. We’ve tried to convert our loft here and established we can’t. We’ve understood that we really want a bigger kitchen and a study, and that the garden needs to be sunny. Not an unusual list I’m sure but it’s clearer in our minds now. And that seems a good way to go forward for our family.

Tomorrow I promise to blog on christening outfits for me and the babe, it’s just been a big week aside from fashionable concerns…

Leave a Reply

